The 2019 All-State and All-Conference awards were announced last week and several Ashley County players made the list.

Crossett had three players named All-State, including senior quarterback Justin Stokes, junior lineman Lamonte Gillum and senior Deeryamond Herman. Gavin Harrod, a junior Hamburg lineman, was also name All-State.

Ten Crossett players were named first team All-Conference. The Crossett seniors named were Deuce Hall, Chase Rice, Justin Stokes, Willie Taylor and Kantrell Williams. Gillum was the only junior named to the first team, but two sophomores Dewayne Ashford and Denzel Watkins both made the list as well.

Hamburg had four players named first team all-conference. Seniors Draylon Scales and Kason Watson and juniors Jamal Brewer and Nick McNeil.

Seven Eagles were named All-conference second team including seniors Kamaryn Frazier, Jaylan Lawson and Brady Lofton. The juniors selected for second team were Nick Goodwin and Tristan Smith and the sophomores named were Jackson Moore and Jayden Thurman.

The five Lions named second team were seniors Nick Bridges and Dalton Howard and juniors Derrick Franklin, Bruin Barnes and Dalton Gill.

Additonally, five Eagles were voted as “outstanding players” in the conference in their respective positions.

Only nine players in the entire conference were selected, two from Dewitt, two from Warren and five from Crossett.

On the Crossett defense, Deuce Hall, a linebacker, defensive back Kanrell Williams and Deeraymond Herman, a lineman, were all chosen as outstanding in their positions.

Chase Rice was selected as an outstanding offensive lineman and Bobby Smith as an outstanding tight end.

Additionally, several players were named as honorable mention All-Conference from both Crossett and Hamburg football teams.

The Crossett players named were seniors Kason Brooks, Bobby Smith and Jalen Williams.

The Eagles also had one junior and two sophmores named as well. Dwight Ashford was the only junior selected and Dylan Coody and Tyrique Jones were the two sophomores.

The Hamburg players who received honorable mention were seniors DJ Johnson, Chris Lloyd and Eli Culp and juniors Hunter Edwards and Armodd Taylor.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.