Even though their districts will change, State Rep. Howard Beaty and State Sen. Ben Gilmore, both of Crossett, will remain in the Arkansas General Assembly.

Both candidates qualified for the Republican preferential primary in the newly drawn districts they would represent without any challengers. 

Since no candidates from other parties qualified for the primary, the two incumbent politicians will not have to face anyone in the general election.

After redrawing because of population changes reflected in the 2020 census, portions of the area now known as Senate District 26, which Gilmore represents, have been drawn into a new district that includes all of Ashley, Bradley, Chicot, Drew and Cleveland counties, as well as portions of Lincoln, Jefferson and Grant counties. It will be known as District 1 in the next Assembly.

The House representation for Ashley County has been redrawn to include all of the county — which previously had three representatives — as well as all of Chicot County. It will now be known as District 95. 

Beaty represents the current District 9, which includes the majority of Ashley County.

Tenth Judicial District Circuit Judge for Division 5, Teresa French, did not have any challengers file for election, but in JDC 10 Division —, subdistrict 10.1, Judge Quincey Ross will see a challenge from Demetria L. Edwards.

Frank Spain was the only candidate to qualify for prosecuting attorney in the 10th JDC.

Qualification for statewide offices happened at the same time, and those who put their name in the race for goernor includd:

Jason Tate (Write-in)

Francis “Doc” Washburn (R)

Anthony “Tony” Bland (D)

Supha Xayprasith-Mays (D)

Dan Nelson (Write-in)

Sarah Huckabee Sanders (R)

James “Rus” Russell, III (D)

Michael Woodard (Write-in)

Ricky Dale Harrington, Jr. (L)

Chris Jones (D)

Jay Martin (D)

Elvis Presley (Write-In)

For Lieutenant Governor:

Judge Joseph Wood (R)

Attorney General Leslie Rutledge (R)

Chris Bequette (R)

Greg Bledsoe (R)

Sen. Jason Rapert (R)

Frank Gilbert (L)

Kelly Ross Krout (D)

Doyle Webb (R)

For attorney general:

Leon Jones, Jr. (R)

Lt. Gov. Tim Griffin (R)

Jesse Gibson (D)

Gerhard Langguth (Write-in)

For state auditor:

Diamond Arnold-Johnson (D)

Simeon Snow (L)

Treasurer of State Dennis Milligan (R)

For Commissioner of State Lands

Darlene Goldi Gaines (D)

Tommy Land Commissioner of State Lands (R)

For Secretary of State:

Anna Beth Gorman (D)

Sec. of State John Thurston (R)

Eddie Joe Williams (R)

Josh Price (D)

For state treasurer:

Pam Whitaker (D)

State Rep. Mark Lowery (R)

Sen. Mathew W. Pitsch (R)

U.S. Congress, District 4:

John White (D)

U.S. Rep. Bruce Westerman (R)

Gregory Maxwell (L)

U.S. Senate:

James Garner (Write-in)

Stuart F. Shirrell (Ind.)

Jan Morgan (R)

Richard “Nap” Gant (Write-in)

Kenneth Cates (L)

Senator John Boozman (R)

Jack E Foster (D)

Heath Loftis (R)

Jake Bequette (R)

Natalie James (D)

Dan Whitfield (D)

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.