A total of 32 candidates will be elected unopposed in the November city elections, but in Crossett, Hamburg, Parkdale and Fountain Hill voters will have to choose a mayor.

The filing deadline for candidates was Friday.

Crossett has nine candidates approved to run for city council. Four candidates will run unopposed, C.T. Foster for Ward 1 Position 1; Lynn Rodgers for Ward 1, Position 2; Crystal Marshall for Ward 2 Position 1; and James Knight for Ward 3, Postion 2. Roy B. Langstaff Sr. will run against Michael R. Sims  and Dale Martinie for Ward 2 Position, and  Cary Lee Carter and Jimmy Jeffress will run against each other for Ward 3, Position 1.

Current mayor Scott McCormick, Councilwoman Valerie Martin and Code Enforcement Officer Tony Jones have all filed to run for mayor. James Hamilton is unopposed in the race for city attorney.

 In Hamburg, Idia Mason and Calvin J. Fierson have filed to run against incumbent mayor Dane Weindorf. Peggy Akers was unopposed for clerk, and all but one council seat is unopposed, meaning the incumbents — Beverly Mays in Ward 1, Portion 1; Mike Sanderlin in Ward 2, Position 1; Derenda Stanley in Ward 2, postion 2; Sue Nolan in Ward 3,Position 2; and DeAnne Murphy in Ward 2, Position 1 — will keep their seats. Daniel Shelton Jr. and Billie C. Pippen will race for Ward 1.  Position 2. Paul Keith has filed to run for city attorney and will run unopposed.

In Parkdale, Robert Palmer will face off against Michelle Pamer for mayor and Glenda Wells will run unopposed as treasurer.

William A. Wells and Rickie Rich will run unopposed for separate alderman positions. 

In Fountain Hill, Ulrica McHenry Trotter and Amy Slaughter have both filed to run for mayor.  

Lucille Daniel will run against Leetell Jenkins Jr. for alderman Position 1 and Brian Slaughter will run unopposed for Postion 5. 

In Portland, incumbent Mayor Gary Morgan will not face a challenger. Jonathan Breedlove will run against Bobby Fisher  for Alderman Ward 1, Position 2. Taylor Spaulding and Thomas Sanders Jr. will both run unopposed, Spaulding for Ward 1, Position 1 and Sanders Jr. for Ward 2, Position 1. Richard Murdaugh and Marsha Wells Vestal be on the ballot for Ward 2, Postion 2. 

In Wilmot and Montrose, all of the races are unopposed.

In Wilmot, Carolyn E. Harris will be elected mayor without opposition. Mary McAdoo will run for Position 1 and Shirley Shelton will run for Position 2 on the council. In the West Ward, Tina Dunn will run for Position 1 and Bertha J. Sherrer for Position 2. Catherine Rollins recently filed to run for East Ward Position 1.

In Montrose, Joseph Carlton will run unopposed for mayor and  Vicki Mixon unopposed for treasurer. Robert Thomason, Arthur Wilson, Emma J. Woods, Cynthia McCullough and Jack Woods are likewise without challengers for city council seats.  

The election will be in November. Voters must register to vote at least 30 days before the election.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.