Chamber bass tournament draws fishers to harbor

Grady Rhinehart shows off the biggest bass caught at the Crossett Area Chamber of Commerce’s 35th annual Buddy Bass Tournament. Ben and Johnathan Brockwell won the tournament when they weighed in at 18.3 pounds. (VAL GAUGHT/News Observer) 

The Crossett Area Chamber of Commerce hosted its 35th annual Buddy Bass Tournament in Crossett on Saturday and two Ashley County men took home first prize.

Chamber Executive Director Mandy White said the tournament was a huge success. 

Johnathan and Ben Brockwell of Hamburg took first place, weighing in with 18.35 pounds. Second place went to another Ashley County team, Daniel and Patrick Chapman, who weighed in with 17.92 pounds.

The Brockwells won $5,000 in cash, while the Chapmans pocketed $3,000 for their angling efforts. 

Eight other cash prizes were given out, including a $2,000 reward to the third place fishers, Robert Rush and Tony Blann; a $1,500 reward for fourth place to Mark Gray and Glen Gray; and a $1,000 reward for fifth place to Mike Meadows and Donald Tate. 

The third place team weighed in at 15.58 pounds and Grays’ team weighed in at 15.13.

Sixth place through 10th place were awarded between $300 and $750 for each place.

Those teams included James Hollensworth and Nick Cardin in sixth place; Karen Lowery and Steven Cash in seventh place; Randy White and Todd Burke in eighth place; Gary and Glenn Bean in ninth place and James Benton and Desmond Champion in 10th place.

Grady Rhineheart and Jimmy Farrar caught the biggest bass of the day. The fish weighed in at 6.75 pounds. The second place winner was the champion team, Ben and Jonathan Brockwell.

In addition to cash prizes for weight, White said the chamber also drew for prizes and gave away a list of merchandise for door prizes.

The tournament’s memorial awards were given out through a drawing. The Ken Taylor Memorial Award went to Ryan Langston. The Jim Stephenson award was awarded to Billy Burchfield. Both are prizes that all fisherman are entered to win.

Dalton Craig won the Bubba Bussell Memorial Award, which was drawn from all fisherman aged 15 to 22.

The Tim Gilbert Memorial Award is drawn from the teams with the smallest live fish. Brian Higginbotham and Walter Hill took home that prize.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.